The team WON BIG at Collegiate Track Nationals

After a hard fought three days at the EDS Superdrome in Frisco, TX, September 20th-22nd, MSU Cycling's Team Arrow returned home; medals in tow. The team racked up a very impressive grand total of five silver, two bronze, team overall silver, and even more podium finishes. To earn this many top placements was no easy feat considering this was not your ordinary weekend of racing, this was COLLEGIATE TRACK NATIONALS!Team Podium

Seventeen colleges from across the country sent their best to compete at Texas's premiere velodrome, a 250-meter wooden track known for it's 45-degree banked turns. The track cyclists raced, at times reaching speeds of 45mph, in individual and team events ranging from a 200-meter time trial to a 30-kilometer, 120-lap mass start race. 


The Team

The team was represented at nationals by Sean Brown (’12), Erick Goytia (’13), Fidel Goytia (’12), Jessica Prinner (’14), Danny Robertson (’12), Claire Routledge (’12) Cory Scott (’14), Amber Vredenburg (’15) and Ashley Weaver (’14).


Standout MSU cyclists included Robertson, who took 2nd in both the men’s kilometer time trial and the match sprint competition to multi-time elite national champion Matt Baranoski.


Prinner took 2nd in the 3km individual pursuit and 3rd in the overall women’s omnium.


Scott, a former road national champion, managed 4th in the points race—his second ever track race.


The women’s team pursuit squad of Prinner, Vredenburg, Weaver, and Routledge placed 2nd, and the co-ed team sprint squad of Routledge, Prinner, Erick Goytia, Brown, Scott, and Robertson narrowly missed the gold, losing out to overall omnium champions Marion University.


Charlie was exceptionally proud of the team’s performance. “It’ll be a while before Marion relinquishes its stranglehold on the team title. They’ve got the biggest budget and the most resources, including a velodrome right on their campus on which to train. But in the seesaw battle for second place, our team strength was the difference maker. I’m especially proud of our team sprint team and its anchor Danny Robertson, who made up a full second deficit in the final lap to win by six tenths of a second over Lees McRae.” 


Robert Clark and Howard Farrell, MSU vice presidents, were on hand Saturday night to present medals to the team, along with Hotter’N Hell Hundred Race Co-Director Ken Webb. "Having them on hand at the closing ceremony was a special bonus (for the team) to cap a weekend that saw MSU get VIP treatment because of a last minute sponsorship donation," said Zamastil. 


"While taking three silver medals in team events was more special because we received them from the men responsible for the cycling program being where it is today, Dr. Robert Clark and Dr. Howard Farrell,” long-time teammate Sean Brown said. “And for me, it was very special to receive my medal from a long time close family friend, Ken Webb, who has helped instill in me the drive to never give up.” Sean's dad has also been an instrumental figure in the cycling community, on and off campus, in Wichita Falls for years.


Thanks to help from Google+ and YouTube we were able broadcast the event live this year. Head over to Charlie's feed for video coverage of the entire weekend.You can also head over to our Facebook and Google+ pages for more photos from the weekend.

For complete race results check out USACycling.