Each year Voices publishes the Vinson Award winner. This award is only for full-time MSU Texas students in good academic standing. Submissions to this contest go through a separate process than submissions for publication in Voices. Click the above link for complete details.

The Bryan L. Lawrence Creative Writing Award is for the best submission to Voices from an MSU Texas student.

The President’s Award in Creative Writing
All submissions in poetry and prose are eligible for this award, regardless of the student’s rank or academic affiliation. There is no entry fee and all submissions will be considered for these awards.

Poetry: First Place- $100.00; Second Place- $50.00; Third Place- $25.00
Prose (short story or essay): First Place- $100.00; Second Place- $50.00; Third Place- $25.00

2019-20 Contest Winners
Bryan L. Lawrence Award for Creative Writing
Grace Tsichlis
President’s Award for Prose
1st Place-
Makayla Baughman
2nd Place- Connie Fogle
3rd Place- Jonathan Potter
President’s Award for Poetry
1st Place-
Paola Brinkley
2nd Place- Alahnna Alvardo
3rd Place- Kristen Longo